LibGuides: Medical Laboratory Technology: Home

How To Get Help

Instructional/Outreach Librarian
Raven Johnston 903-510-2308

Interlibrary Loan/Acquisitions
Lilly Smith 903-510-2645

Reference Librarian
Leif Pierson 903-510-3149

Librarian
Nathan Stiles 903-510-2110

Circulation Desk
903-510-2502

TJC HelpDesk Technical Help
903-510-2413

Library Hours

Fall and Spring
Mon - Thu       7:30 to 11:30
Friday          7:30 to 5:00
Saturday         10:00 to 2:00
Sunday          1:00 to 9:00

Summer I and II
Mon - Thurs 8:00 to 9:00
Friday 8:00 to 5:00

May Term
Mon - Fri 8:00 to 5:00

Quick Links

Medical Laboratory Technology Department Page
Contact an Advisor
About TJC
Library Webpage
Online Catalog
Library Databases

Online Journals

Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing

Laboratory Medicine

Nursing for Women's Health

General Health Databases

Credo Reference
Great resource for general topical information that also allows the user to perform more in-depth research from the library's subscription databases provided on the Topic Pages. Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.

Nursing and Health Sciences

By CIMMYT; is marked with CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Research Databases

MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative medical information for the study of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Gale Onefile Health & Medicine
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.
CINAHL Full Text
Comprehensive journal coverage for nursing and allied health. Contains English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref is a comprehensive full-text healthcare e-resource that includes full-text e-book titles, journals, evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources, drug guides, and more. Also accessible via mobile app.
SciTech Premium Collection (1946-current)
This ProQuest database consists of the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection. Includes full-text titles that include journals, magazines, trade & industry journals, technical reports, government publications and more. Choose the Science & Technology category from the home page to also include ebooks for these subjects.
Gale: Science In Context
Science In Context provides information for hundreds of science topics. Includes headlines and videos to help students better understand how these disciplines relate to real-world issues.
Micromedex (Thomson Health Database)
Evidenced-based clinical reference program used in hospitals and by clinicians for drug, disease, acute care, toxicology, and alternative medical information. It also includes, Care Notes, a comprehensive tool to educate patients.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
A comprehensive point-of-care reference resource providing clinical resources for nurses. Includes thousands of evidence-based care sheets, point-of-care drug information, quick lessons on diseases and procedures, legal information, videos and much more

Pharmacology World
Unlimited access to videos compiled to help you master the key concepts of pharmacology.

Reference Books

Subject Guide

Nathan Stiles

MLT Department

Department/Contact Information

Rachel Miller - Department Chair

Office: RNHS 2.276

Email: rachel.miller@tjc.edu

Phone: 903-510-2010

Journals and Magazines

This guide provides a topical list of all Journals and Magazines currently received by Tyler Junior College's Vaughn Library. Click the tabs above to see journals and magazines in that subject category.

Journals and Magazines

Access BoardVitals

BoardVitals is a powerful board review tool that is accessible 24/7 from your phone, tablet or computer. Faculty and students must first register with BoardVitals. To access BoardVitals, go here.

Databases vs Internet

Watch this very short video clip that demonstrates why you should consult the library's databases for your research rather than the internet.

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them

Alternative Medicine

Alternative Health Watch
This database provides information on holistic medicine and therapies from hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Off Campus Library Support Guide

See our Off Campus Library Services subject guide for detailed information regarding our off-campus services and support.