LibGuides: Health Information Technology: Web Resources

Associations, Organizations, and Statistics

American Academy of Professional Coders AAPC discovers, develops, and provides innovative products, services, and solutions to help the global healthcare industry recognize the full potential of their revenue cycle.

American Health Information Management (AHIMA) (AHIMA) is the leading voice and authority in health information, wherever it is found. Our people work at the intersection of healthcare, technology, and business.

American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) AMIA publishes a number of outreach materials for its membership and for external communities to provide news and views on a wide span of topics related to informatics.

Certification Commission for Healthcare Technology (CCHIT) Approved by the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), the CCHIT has operated as a technology certification body since 2006. Since then, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has named the CCHIT an authorized testing and certification body.

Websites

JustCoding.com Resources include databases, articles, encyclopedia, quizzes, books and more about medical coding.

For The Record For more than a quarter-century, For The Record magazine has been a leading independent resource for industry news and information for HIM professionals.

Health Data Management Health Data Management exists to create knowledge efficiency and clarity by providing evidence-based, solution-focused content on a single trusted platform, intended to help healthcare stakeholders make informed decisions around operational and clinical initiatives.

Medical Billing and Coding Online MB&CC is your source for vital information on medical billing and coding.

PDR online PDR provides event-driven and clinically relevant healthcare messaging through its patented process that improves patient compliance and outcomes, while preserving privacy.

PubMed Central PubMed Central^® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Drugs.com Drugs.com is the largest, most widely visited, independent medicine information website available on the Internet.

Medical Record Privacy EPIC was established in 1994 to protect privacy, freedom of expression, and democratic values in the information age.

Associations, Organizations, and Statistics cont.

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.

CDC - FastStats Selected statistics on a variety of health topics. Additional data and tools.

Healthcare Information & Management Systems Society HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society) is a global advisor, thought leader and member-based society committed to reforming the global health ecosystem through the power of information and technology.

JustCoding.com For hospital inpatient or outpatient coders, Just Coding keeps your skills sharp, test your coding knowledge, and help stay abreast of CMS changes.

MedlinePlus - Health Statistics MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records and Health Information Technicians is a publication of the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States

Practice Management Institute Practice Management Institute® (PMI) trains and certifies administrative professionals working in medical offices: medical office managers and staff working in coding, billing, auditing, and compliance.