History: Web Resources

Located at Fordham University's History Department, the Internet History Sourcebooks Project is an extensive collection designed to provide access to public domain primary sources and other teaching materials with copy permission.

Search for European historical primary documents by country.

From website: "World History Sources reflects three approaches to current world history scholarship: an emphasis on comparative issues rather than civilizations in isolation; a focus on contacts among different societies and the economic, social, and cultural consequences of those contacts; and an attentiveness to “global” forces that transcend individual societies or even societies in mutual contact..."

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database provides data from thousands of slavery voyages comprised of millions of Africans who were transported to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Digital versions of historical text initiated in 1995 by the Hanover College history department. Contents of this collection range from Ancient Greece to the 20th century.

Archive includes primary material for the study of Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic. Includes both propaganda and materials produced as a guide for propagandists.

Core primary and secondary source materials over medieval and modern history from the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.

Located at the University of North Texas, this Portal is a digital gateway to historical materials from private collectors and collaborative partners, including libraries, museums, archives, and other historical groups.

This resource contains early Texas and Texans, photographs of the Texas landscape, popular songs of Texas and the West, a searchable database of over 10,000 "Texians" that lived during the time of the Republic of Texas, full-text on-line editions of rare and classic books about Texas, etc.

From the Texas State Library and Archives, search displays containing rare and unique items, with historical narratives, transcriptions, and links for further research.

Hosted by the Texas State Historical Association, this collection consists of links to selected Texas history primary source documents.

Searchable full-text version of the complete six-volume print edition of The Handbook of Texas that contains hundreds of articles, illustrations and audio-video.

Biographical information for all Texas governors. Contains timeline of events, official portraits, documents and more. From the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

Digitization project from the University of Texas School of Law that contains Texas Constitutions and journals, records and debates of the Constitutional Conventions from 1824 to 1876.

Comprehensive list of links to primary and secondary resources that are focused on the Humanities. Content is aimed at those in higher education or at the professional level.

Private Internet resource developed in 1996 by Phillip Gavin. Topics include American Revolution, U.S. Civil War, 20th Century Topics, WWII, Vietnam War and information about Presidents of the United States.

Search document collections for primary documents concerning the law, history and diplomacy from Ancient times to the 21st century.

Collection contains 343 informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War. Reflects the thought of that period and is searchable by topic. From the Government Information Department at the SMU Central University Library.

Collection contains the following materials.
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to G.W. Bush (1929-2007) & Obama (2009)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009-2012)
• Thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Great list of history resources from Ancient History to today. Searchable by time period and topic.

Gateway of links to web resources, historical guides, primary documents and teaching materials to aid in the study of U. S. history. Developed jointly from the City University of New York and the George Mason University.

This collection contains millions of written and digital resources found in America’s archives, libraries and museums.

Approximately 1,400 primary documents concernng the American South during the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. From the collections of the University of North Carolina.

This collection contains millions of written and digital resources found in America’s archives, libraries and museums.

Collection of our nation's valued history in the form of documents, records, maps, photographs and more.

Online collection from the University of Texs at Austin that consists of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world and over 11,000 map images.

Established in 1993 by George Laughead and Dr. Lynn H. Nelson, AMDOCS provides a large collection of American history resources from the year 800 until 2009.

Historical archive of primary sources in American history that includes over 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs and other information that document the political, social and economic history of the U.S. Documentation from 1943 through the 20th century.

List of 100 milestone documents compiled by the National Archives and Record Administration that chronicles U. S. history from 1776 to 1965.

Links to important historical documents from the Library of Congress that highlight the periods of 1763-1815: The American Revolution and the New Nation; 1815-1860 National Expansion and Reform and 1860-1877: the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Find Civil War battlefields, primary sources, recommended websites, maps, photos and more pertaining to the American Civil War. Site is part of the Civil War Trust, America's largest non-profit organization devoted to preserving America's Civil War Battlefields.

Nice outline for the study of women throughout various historical periods. Includes online documentation and discussions.

Important primary materials from 19th century from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University

Digitized collection of America's newspapers from 1836 to 1922. Search selected content provided by the National Digital Newspaper Program.

An extensive guide for the study of Black history and culture from the Library of Congress.

A national research library whose collection preserves documentation concerning the experiences of people of African descent. The collection promotes the study and interpretation of their history and culture.

Search a variety of topics concerning Black history from general to specific. Some topics include slavery, abolition, reconstruction, segregation and Black migration and civil rights.

A substantial list of sources over Black history and culture from The Hilton C. Buley Library at Southern Connecticut State University.