The library's book collection is organized according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System, with reference books and circulating titles interfiled. Popular collections in addition to the main stacks include Reserve, Bestsellers, and a robust Fiction section. The Online Catalog allows you to quickly and easily search for books from on or off campus.
Wireless network access is available in all areas of the library. Log in using your Apahce A# and your Apache password. If you experience problems with your password, you can access the 24-hour automated password reset utility at 903-510-3269, option #1.
Need a book or an article that we don't have? Complete the Interlibrary Loan request form at the link below and we'll request your item/s for you from another library. We generally receive articles within 24 hours, but books may take up to two weeks. Be sure to allow plenty of time!
Students have access to approximately 70 computers on the first floor of the library that are available on a first come basis with a time limit of 2 hours. The Technical Assistance Center is located near the computers to help anyone needing assistance with the computers, a password reset, access to the TJC wireless network, and other technical questions.
TJC manages computer printing through a system called PaperCut, and students must set up a print management account before printing. There is a kiosk on the library’s first floor where patrons can either feed in cash (coins or paper currency) or use their debit or credit card to add money to their account. Check with the IT staff stationed at the Technical Assistance Center for help. Print stations are set up around the library in order to better serve our patrons. Patrons can walk up to any print station, swipe their TJC ID card or key in their A#, and choose which print job to release for printing. Printing costs: black and white copies are 10 cents per page, and color copies are 75 cents per page.
Do you know about the library's Subject Guides? Subject guides can be created over any topic, for any purpose, and they provide the most important resources for a specific course or individual class. Search the library's databases, book and ebook collections, and selected Internet sites. In addition, find resources for citing works in the various formats, technical assistance and more. As an added plus, you can do all of your searches right from the guide!
Online students can easily get help by selecting the Library link in their Canvas page, where they will see our Off-Campus Library Support guide. This guide provides them with many resources, answers to most questions and many ways to contact us for help.
Our print collection of periodicals consists of journals, magazines and newspapers. Newspaper coverage includes the Dallas Morning News, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Wall Street Journal and USA Today. There are approximately 200 journal and magazine titles that are housed on the first floor.
The library's online databases offer 24/7 access from home or office to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, government documents, TV and radio transcripts and more. Because the databases allow us to deliver information more conveniently and economically, and to a broader base of users, it is our policy to purchase print titles only when not availble in electronic format. Be sure to check out our growing collection of individual online journals on that same page.
