LibGuides: Honors Program: English/Humanities

Find Books & eBooks

Roll over the Subject tabs in this guide to see the associated Books & eBooks sub-page. Search the library's online catalog to find books housed in our physical collection, or search the library's ebooks that are accessible 24/7.

Databases For Topics

Points of View Reference Center
Search a list of hundreds of pre-selected topics or perfrom your own direct search. Selections from the list also include a pro and con view of the topic. Great resource for topics!
Sirs
Great resource with a large pre-selected list of topics that offers pro and con views of each topic.

Associated Subject Guides

English 1301 - Composition I
Resources to help you select and write about controversial issues and current topics.
English 1302 - Literary Research
Resources for the study of literature, particularly for the short story, poetry and plays.
English 2332 - World Literature
Find resources for the study of World Literature from the ancient world to the present.
History
Journal articles, books, selected websites and reference works to assist you with a general study of history.

Databases vs Internet

Watch this very short video clip that demonstrates why you should consult the library's databases for your research rather than the internet.

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them

Suggested Databases For English and the Humanities

Gale Literary Sources
Comprised of Gale's Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Author Series, and Scribner's Writers Series. Select "What's Inside" at the top of the page to find out more about these resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (Gale)
Search the full-text works from hundreds of contemporary authors that also includes biographies, critical views, and principle works.

Literary Reference Center Plus (LRC)
Comprehensive resource with information over thousands of authors and their works, hundreds of full-text journal articles, major reference works, books, literary criticism, author biographies, poems, and much more.
Humanities Full Text
Includes hundreds of full-text periodicals from 1995 and features articles, interviews, bibliographies, and obituaries. Also includes original works of fiction, drama, poetry, book reviews, ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio & television programs, plays, operas and more.

Biographies

Credo Reference
Great resource for general topic information and biographies. Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Biography Reference Bank
Thorough biographcial coverage of individuals that includes full-text articles, images and abstracts from thousands of periodicals.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical information and references for thousands of U. S. and international authors.

Subject Guide

Leif Pierson

Contact:

903-510-3149