Books/eBooks - Texas Government - McCauley - LibGuides at Tyler Junior College

eBooks

Ebook Central
Search multiple subject areas from thousands of ebooks by numerous well-known publishers. Choose the "Search By Topic" link at the top of the subject listings to see all topics.

InfobaseBooks(Bloom's Literary Criticism Collection)
This vast collection of ebooks features expert analysis and criticism for writers and works most often studied at the high school and college/university levels. Coverage includes the novel, short story, poetry and drama.

Infobase History Databases
Excellent history resource consisting of five databases. Sources include thousands of articles, images, videos and timelines. Search American History (includes American Women's History, U. S. Government and American History), American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, Modern World History, and African-American History.
History Collections From 1492-1941
Core reference works that are cross-searchable. Current collection is from their U.S. History and Culture collection. Databases include Colonial America 1492-1783; Civil War and Reconstruction 1861-1877; Gilded Age and Progressive Era 1877-1919; Jazz Age 1919-1929 and the Great Depression and New Deal 1929-1941.

eBook Collection(EBSCOhost)
Search eBooks On EBSCOhost from our database collection to find books in electronic format (ebooks). This collection consists of thousands of titles over multiple topics such as business, technology, trade, reference and academia.

Credo Reference Online Books
Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos. Books are from well known publishers.

eBook Collections

Ebook Central
Search multiple subject areas from thousands of ebooks by numerous well-known publishers. Choose the "Search By Topic" link at the top of the subject listings to see all topics.
InfobaseBooks(Bloom's Literary Criticism Collection)
This vast collection of ebooks features expert analysis and criticism for writers and works most often studied at the high school and college/university levels. Coverage includes the novel, short story, poetry and drama.

Infobase History Database Collections
Excellent history resource consisting of five databases. Sources include thousands of articles, images, videos and timelines. Search American History (includes American Women's History, U. S. Government and American History), American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, Modern World History, and African-American History.
History Collections From 1492-1941
Core reference works that are cross-searchable. Current collection is from their U.S. History and Culture collection. Databases include Colonial America 1492-1783; Civil War and Reconstruction 1861-1877; Gilded Age and Progressive Era 1877-1919; Jazz Age 1919-1929 and the Great Depression and New Deal 1929-1941.

Credo Reference
Great resource for general topical information that also allows the user to perform more in-depth research from the library's subscription databases provided on the Topic Pages. Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
eBook Collection(EBSCOhost)
Search eBooks On EBSCOhost from our database collection to find books in electronic format (ebooks). This collection consists of thousands of titles over multiple topics such as business, technology, trade, reference and academia.
STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref is a comprehensive full-text healthcare e-resource that includes full-text e-book titles, journals, evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources, drug guides, and more. Also accessible via mobile app.

Online Catalog Search

Search the library's Online Catalog for books and more at the link provided.

Library Online Catalog

Book Locations

Now that we've introduced you to the library's call numbering sytem for books, let's help you find them!

First Floor

Biography Section
Periodical collection containing magazines, journals and newspapers
Fiction section

Second Floor

Circulating books, 000's through 900's
Legal Collection - in support of TJC's paralegal program
Health Sciences Collection - nursing and allied health books and journals

Subject Guide

Leif Pierson

Contact:

903-510-3149

About the Library's Book Collection

Books in the TJC library are arranged by the Dewey Decimal Classification System, which uses the 000's to 900's numbering system to identify a subject area. Using the very brief subject list below, you can see that you would find a book over religion in the 200's section of the library or a history book in the 900's.

000 Generalities
100 Philosophy & Psychology
200 Religion
300 Social Studies
400 Language
500 Natural Sciences & Math
600 Technology (Applied Science)
700 The Arts
800 Literature & Rhetoric
900 Geography & History