LibGuides: Dental Assistant : Home

How To Get Help

Instructional/Outreach Librarian
Raven Johnston 903-510-2308

Interlibrary Loan/Acquisitions
Lilly Smith 903-510-2645

Reference Librarian
Leif Pierson 903-510-3149

Librarian
Nathan Stiles 903-510-2110

Circulation Desk
903-510-2502

TJC HelpDesk Technical Help
903-510-2413

Library Hours

Fall and Spring
Mon - Thu       7:30 to 11:30
Friday          7:30 to 5:00
Saturday         10:00 to 2:00
Sunday          1:00 to 9:00

Summer I and II
Mon - Thurs 8:00 to 9:00
Friday 8:00 to 5:00

May Term
Mon - Fri 8:00 to 5:00

DNTA - Reserve Textbooks

Practice Management for the Dental Team by Betty Ladley Finkbeiner; Charles Allan Finkbeiner
Call Number: DNTA 1245
ISBN: 9780323065368
Publication Date: 2011
Pearson's Comprehensive Dental Assisting by Lori Tyler
Call Number: DNTA 1315
ISBN: 9780131744196
Publication Date: 2009

Online Journals

Journal of Dental Education

Journal of Dentistry for Children

Journal of Public Health Dentistry

Journals and Magazines

This guide provides a topical list of all Journals and Magazines currently received by Tyler Junior College's Vaughn Library. Click the tabs above to see journals and magazines in that subject category.

Journals and Magazines

Dental Assistant

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Suggested Research Databases

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Comprehensive coverage of all areas of dentistry, including endodontics, facial pain & surgery, pediatric dentistry, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, prosthodontics and public dental health.
SciTech Premium Collection (1946-current)
This ProQuest database consists of the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection. Includes full-text titles that include journals, magazines, trade & industry journals, technical reports, government publications and more. Choose the Science & Technology category from the home page to also include ebooks for these subjects.
CINAHL Full Text
Comprehensive journal coverage for nursing and allied health. Contains English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative medical information for the study of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Gale: Science In Context
Science In Context provides information for hundreds of science topics. Includes headlines and videos to help students better understand how these disciplines relate to real-world issues.
Micromedex (Thomson Health Database)
Evidenced-based clinical reference program used in hospitals and by clinicians for drug, disease, acute care, toxicology, and alternative medical information. It also includes, Care Notes, a comprehensive tool to educate patients.
Health Reference Center Academic
Access to current health topics and medical research comprised of millions of full-text journal articles, magazines, videos, newsletters and lots more.

Quick Links

Dental Assistant Department Page
Contact an Advisor
About TJC
Library Webpage
Online Catalog
Library Databases

Subject Guide

Nathan Stiles

Department Contact

Department/Contact Information
Jenna Wallis - Department Chair
Office: RNHS 2.251
Email: jwal7@tjc.edu
Phone: 903-510-2693

MedNar Medical Search Engine

MedNar is a freely available federated search engine that searches the deep web in real-time for authoritataive health information.

MedNar

General Health Databases

Credo Reference
Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as images, audio files, and videos.
Gale Onefile Health & Medicine
Rich source of consumer health information from health magazines and clinical reference reports. Includes a medical drug guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Off Campus Library Support Guide

See our Off Campus Library Services subject guide for detailed information regarding our off-campus services and support.