LibGuides: Dental Hygiene: Home

Department Contact

Carrie Hobbs
Department Chair
RNHS 1.144
Email: chob@tjc.edu
903-510-2340

Off Campus Library Support Guide

See our Off Campus Library Services subject guide for detailed information regarding our off-campus services and support.

Library Hours

Fall and Spring

Mon - Thu    7:30 to 11:30
Friday          7:30 to 5:00
Saturday     10:00 to 2:00
Sunday         1:00 to 5:00

Summer I and II

Mon - Thurs 8:00 to 9:00
Friday 8:00 to 5:00

Contact Us

Nathan Stiles
Liaison Librarian 903-510-2110

Leif Pierson
Reference Librarian 903-510-3149

Madeleine Nittmo
Outreach Librarian 903-510-2308

Circulation Desk
903-510-2502

TJC HelpDesk Technical Help
903-510-2413

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Journal of Dental Education

Journal of Dentistry for Children

Journal of Public Health Dentistry

Dental Hygiene

https://www.flickr.com/photos/cooleyd/

Suggested Research Databases

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Comprehensive coverage of all areas of dentistry, including endodontics, facial pain & surgery, pediatric dentistry, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, prosthodontics and public dental health.
SciTech Premium Collection (1946-current)
This ProQuest database consists of the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection. Includes full-text titles that include journals, magazines, trade & industry journals, technical reports, government publications and more. Choose the Science & Technology category from the home page to also include ebooks for these subjects.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive database that provides scholarly, full-text research for multiple disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Find scholarly articles from hundreds of journals from the field of medicine, with a strong emphasis on nursing and allied health.
Health Reference Center Academic
Access to current health topics and medical research comprised of millions of full-text journal articles, magazines, videos, newsletters and lots more.
Gale: Science In Context
Science In Context provides information for hundreds of science topics. Includes headlines and videos to help students better understand how these disciplines relate to real-world issues.
Business Source Complete
Great resource containing business related journals, books, case studies, company profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, faculty seminars (videos), financial data, industry reports, investment and market research reports, SWOT analyses and trade journals.
Education Research Complete
You'll find this to be a very comprehensive collection of education journals covering all areas of education. Includes full-text of journals, books, monographs and conference papers. Thorough coverage of dental topics.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative medical information for the study of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
CINAHL Full Text
Comprehensive journal coverage for nursing and allied health. Contains English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.

Additional Databases

Credo Reference
Great resource for general topical information that also allows the user to perform more in-depth research from the library's subscription databases provided on the Topic Pages. Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Micromedex
Evidenced-based clinical reference program used in hospitals and by clinicians for drug, disease, acute care, toxicology, and alternative medical information. It also includes, Care Notes, a comprehensive tool to educate patients.
Health Source Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Rich source of consumer health information from health magazines and clinical reference reports. Includes a medical drug guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Natural and Alternative Treatments (EBSCO)
Accurate and unbiased evidenced-based information concerning complementary and alternative health medicine. The content has been developed and reviewed by physicians and pharmacologists.

Alt Health Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports. Also includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

Subject Guide

Nathan Stiles

News & Events

American Dental Associaton News & Events
Keep up with the latest news and happenings from within the various fields of dentistry.
Registered Dental Hygienists
Access select current and archived articles without subscription; read newsletters and blogs. From PennWell Dental Group.

MedNar Medical Search Engine

MedNar is a freely available federated search engine that searches the deep web in real-time for authoritataive health information.

MedNar