Skip to main content
Tyler Junior College
Search this Guide
Sources for research in the area of music.
Database How To's
Mobile Apps and Sites
Online Journals Tutorial
Online Databases Tutorial
IMSLP Petrucci Music Library
Dolnetsch Music Dictionary
National Jukebox-Library of Congress
Audio Recording-Library of Congress
Library of Congress
Bach Mozart Beethoven Vivaldi
Cat Anderson Louis Armstrong Miles Davis Charlie Parker
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
19th-Century American Sheet Music
This collection from the University of North Carolina includes 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from 1830's to the end of the century.
African American Sheet Music Collection
The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University.
Historic American Sheet Music
The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University provides access to digital images of 3,042 pieces from the collection, published in the United states between 1850 and 1920.
American Popular Songs
This digital collection from the New York Public Library presents the first decades of a comprehensive holding of popular American sheet music.
The Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
This collection was generously donated to The John Hopkins University by Lester S. Levy and consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music.
Center for the History of Music Theory & Literature
This site brings together various research activities and projects in the fields of music theory.
Analytical Approaches to World Music
An interdisciplinary journal engaging the analytical, theoretical, and cultural aspects of the world music traditions.
Music reviews in all genres composed or performed by black artists.
Jazz Forum: The Magazine of the International Jazz Federation
A searchable digital facsimile of the influential Polish jazz magazine Jazz Forum, available in Polish, English, and German.
Music Theory Online
An online, peer-reviewed journal published by the Society of Music Theory.
Bach, Johann Sebastian
The Bach Archive's Library in Leipzig provides access to online music, manuscripts, and catalogs of Johann Sebastian Bach and other composers in the Bach family.
Beethoven, Ludwig van
The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies at San Jose State University is the only institution in North America devoted solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827).
The Chopin Collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frederic Chopin.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Created to make Mozart's music compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal students and for educational, classroom use.
America Singing: Nineteenth-Century Song Sheets
Contains 4,291 song sheets. Included among these American songs are ninety-seven British song sheets from Dublin and London.
Band Music from the Civil War Era
An online collection of brass band and vocal music of the 1850's.
Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection
This collection documents the musical heritage and cultural traditions of the Hispano residents of the portion of the Northern Rio Grande region spanning Northern new Mexico and Southern Colorado.
American Sheet Music, ca. 1820-1860
Consists of over 15,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years of 1820 to 1860.
American Sheet Music, ca. 1870-1885
Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885.
Omaha Indian Music
Selections from the American Folklife Center's collections documenting Omaha music traditions.
Performaing Arts, Music: 2 Collections
This collection contains Vaudeville and popular entertainment from 1870 to 1920.
American Association for Music Therapy
American Compposers Alliance
American Society of Music Composers
Music Library Assocations
Music Teachers National Association
National Association for Music Education
Percussive Arts Society
Society for Professional Audio Recording Services
Database How To's
Mobile Apps and Sites >>
Jun 23, 2020 2:31 PM
Login to LibApps
music musicology music history