Our print collection of periodicals consists of academic journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers. Newspapers include the Dallas Morning News, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Wall Street Journal and USA Today. Print newspapers, journals, and magazines are located on the first floor (Health Science journals are on the second floor).
The library's online databases offer 24/7 access from home or office to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, government documents, TV and radio transcripts and more. You can search our full list of databases by subject or the alphabetical list. Be sure to check out our collection of individual online journals on that same page.
Students have access to approximately 70 computers on the first floor of the library that are available on a first come basis with a time limit of 2 hours. The Technical Assistance Center is located near the computers to help anyone needing assistance with the computers, a password reset, access to the TJC wireless network, and other technical questions.
TJC manages computer printing through a system called PaperCut, and students must set up a print management account before printing. There is a kiosk on the library’s first floor where patrons can either feed in cash (coins or paper currency) or use their debit or credit card to add money to their account. Check with the IT staff stationed at the Technical Assistance Center for help. Print stations are set up around the library in order to better serve our patrons. Patrons can walk up to any print station, swipe their TJC ID card or key in their A#, and choose which print job to release for printing. Printing costs: black and white copies are 10 cents per page, and color copies are 75 cents per page.
Do you know about the library's Subject Guides? Subject guides can be created over any topic, for any purpose, and they provide the most important resources for a specific course or individual class. Search the library's databases, book and ebook collections, and selected Internet sites. In addition, find resources for citing works in the various formats, technical assistance and more.
Online students can easily get help by selecting the Library link in their Canvas page, where they will see our Off-Campus Library Support guide. This guide provides them with many resources, answers to most questions and many ways to contact us for help.
Be sure to inform your students about them! You can include the Subject Guides link below in your online course page, departmental website, or syllabus. Don't see a guide for your course? Contact Leif Pierson or Madeleine Nittmo and we'll develop one just for you!
Contact Leif Pierson, Reference Librarian, at lpie@tjc.edu or ext. 3149 to schedule any of the following services.
Individual Assistance
Library Tours
Classroom Instruction
Subject Bibliography
Assistance with Assignments
