Honors Program: History/Government

Collection of five databases that covers the U. S. Government, American Women's History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History and Modern World History.

Enter your subject in the search box at the top of the page to find these titles. Contents include Colonial America (1492-1783), Civil War Era & Reconstruction (1861-1877), Gilded Age and Progressive Era (1877-1919), Jazz Age and Great Depression (1919-1929) and New Deal (1929-1941). Topics include biographies, settlements & cities, geography, economies, colonies, agriculture, military & diplomatic affairs and much more. Also includes a huge list of images and primary documents, suggested web resources, and foreign perspectives on the United States.

This unique resource makes available, for the first time, many rare and significant documents from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. Collection covers four hundred years and includes manuscripts, artworks, speeches and petitions, diaries, correspondence, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps, photographs, rare printed books and American Indian newspapers. Full color and searchable.

Search for information about the federal government that includes the branches of government, election process and political parties, founding documents and more.

Search for Texas state government information. Topics include branches of government, the election process and political parties.

General history resources.

Helpful resources for the study of African-American history.