site header image
Skip to main content

Cultural Diversity: Home

How To Get Help

Reference Librarian
Leif Pierson  903-510-3149

Circulation Desk 
903-510-2502

Library Hours

Fall and Spring

Mon - Thu      7:30 to 11:30
Friday             7:30 to 5:00
Saturday       10:00 to 2:00
Sunday           1:00 to 5:00 

Summer I and II  

Mon - Thurs    8:00 to 9:00
Friday             8:00 to 5:00

Cultural Diversity

SalFalko is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Diversity

  • Understanding and appreciating interdependence of humanity, cultures, and the natural environment.
  • Practicing mutual respect for qualities and experiences that are different from our own.
  • Understanding that diversity includes not only ways of being but also ways of knowing;
  • Recognizing that personal, cultural and institutionalized discrimination creates and sustains privileges for some while creating and sustaining disadvantages for others;
  • Building alliances across differences so that we can work together to eradicate all forms of discrimination.
                                                                        Queensborough Community College

Databases for Professional Research

An extensive collection of scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all educational specialties.

  • Professional Development Collection
    Highly specialized collection of education journals with hundreds of peer-reviewed titles that also includes educational reports. Includes full text education journals including, Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others.
  • ERIC
    Provides extensive access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A comprehensive database that provides scholarly, full-text research for multiple disciplines.
  • Credo Reference
    Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos. Titles included are from well-known publishers.

Contact

Leif Pierson's picture
Leif Pierson
Contact:
903-510-3149