Social Work: SOCW2361 Intro To Social Work

• The assigned paper must be 3-4 pages in length, typed, double-spaced, using one-inch margins and standard font size of 12.
• Students will identify an agency that reflects the Social Work field of practice, visit the agency, and interview a Social Worker within that agency. 
• The following areas should be addressed within the paper:

-          Agency name and location

-          Social problems or areas of social functioning addressed by the agency (ex. homelessness, poverty, abuse, mental health, etc.)

-          A brief history of the agency

-          The client base of the agency (what population receives services)

-          Services provided by the agency

-          Some of the problems Social Workers attempt to help clients resolve

-          How Generalist Practice relates to service provision at the agency (regarding intervention levels and theory)

-          Auspices (funding sources/support) of the agency

-          Criteria for clients to receive services (eligibility, etc.)

-          Qualifications of the Social Worker (degree, license, experience)

-          A typical day on the job of the Social Worker

-          The student’s opinion of the challenges and/or rewards faced by Social Workers in this agency, as well as in the Social Work field in general

• It is expected that students will act in a professional and courteous manner when interacting with their chosen agency.

• The assigned paper must be 3-4 pages in length, typed, double-spaced, using one-inch margins and standard font size of 12.
• Choose a type of oppression or discrimination within the United States today (examples include The “Isms” (Chapter 6), poverty, homelessness, child/adult abuse, unemployment, etc.).
• A professional journal article will be researched by the student on their chosen topic.  The paper should include a summary of the article, as well as provide the student’s own opinion of the article.  Be sure to include how the topic chosen is related to oppression or discrimination.  The student should also discuss how Generalist Social Work could apply to meeting the needs of their chosen population (regarding intervention levels, theory, and a person-in-environment perspective).
• Be sure to include a detailed reference (citation) at the end of your paper regarding the article that you have chosen to use for this option.

The library’s proprietary databases offer TJC students, faculty and staff comprehensive and authoritative resources which may be accessed from on campus or from home. 

Follow these instructions for accessing TJC’s library databases:

From On Campus:

Go to http://www.tjc.edu/library/index.php and select the Online Resources link in the right margin. You can search the databases by subject grouping or the A to Z list. Select a database from the list (such as Academic Search Complete, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, socINDEX (EBSCO databases) SIRS, etc.

From Off Campus:

Go to http://www.tjc.edu/library/index.php and select the Online Resources link in the right margin. You can search the databases by subject grouping or the A to Z list. Select a database such as Academic Search Complete, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, socINDEX (EBSCO databases) SIRS, etc.

Click on the database and you will see a blank page that asks for your username and password. Look at the top of that page for an explanation of the login criteria.  The username is your A# and the password is the last 4 digits of your A# plus your 4 digit birth year. 

Ex.  A12345678 and birth year of 1981, the login would be:

Username        A12345678

Password         56781981

Once you have chosen a database:

* Search a key word by typing it in to the “Search” box.

* Check the box indicating “Full Text” articles only.  A more narrow search can be

   conducted by providing additional parameters (ex. Published Date, Number of Pages,

   etc.).

* Click on the “Search” button

* This should bring up a list of articles that can be chosen from about the topic.  Click on

   “HTML Full Text” or “PDF Full Text” to review the article.

* Print the chosen article for the paper.