LibGuides: Honors Program: Book Help

About the Library's Books

Books in the TJC library are arranged by the Dewey Decimal Classification System, which uses the 000's to 900's numbering system to identify a subject area. The subject list below identifies the general location of materials by subject area.

000 Generalities
100 Philosophy & Psychology
200 Religion
300 Social Studies
400 Language
500 Natural Sciences & Math
600 Technology (Applied Science)
700 The Arts
800 Literature & Rhetoric
900 Geography & History

Location of Materials

First Floor

Periodical collection containing magazines, journals and newspapers
Fiction
Biography
Graphic novels

Second Floor

Nonfiction, including numbers 000-900s
All circulating and reference books are interfiled
Legal Collection - in support of TJC's paralegal program
Health Sciences Collection - all nursing and allied health books and journals

All Library eBook Collections

The library's ebook collections are accessible online. You'll find these multi-disciplinary resources listed by subject within our collection of online resources.

InfobaseBooks(Bloom's Literary Criticism Collection)
This vast collection of ebooks features expert analysis and criticism for writers and works most often studied at the high school and college/university levels. Coverage includes the novel, short story, poetry and drama.
Credo Reference
Great resource for general topical information that also allows the user to perform more in-depth research from the library's subscription databases provided on the Topic Pages. Easy to use tool for research projects and homework that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Ebook Central
Search multiple subject areas from thousands of ebooks by numerous well-known publishers. Choose the "Search By Topic" link at the top of the subject listings to see all topics.

American History Online Collection
Collection of five databases that covers the U. S. Government, American Women's History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History and Modern World History.
History Collections from 1492-1941
Core reference works that are cross-searchable. Current collection is from their U.S. History and Culture collection. Databases include Colonial America 1492-1783; Civil War and Reconstruction 1861-1877; Gilded Age and Progressive Era 1877-1919; Jazz Age 1919-1929 and the Great Depression and New Deal 1929-1941.
eBooks on Gale Virtual Reference Library
Select the title list link at top of the search page to see all books included in the database. Subject categories include art, business, education, literature, history, medicine and much more.
STAT!Ref
Comprehensive source for online healthcare books with core titles and evidence-based resources. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCal 3000 calculators for medical calculations, conversions and references.
eBooks On EBSCOhost
Search eBooks On EBSCOhost from our database collection to find books in electronic format (ebooks). This collection consists of thousands of titles over multiple topics such as business, technology, trade, reference and academia.

Subject Guide

Leif Pierson

Contact:

903-510-3149